Practice to make a difference.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

A charming, thought-provoking, hand-lettered book for fans of The Book of Awesome and Wreck This Journal.

They amaze us and hurt us, bring us to tears and make us laugh, delight us and keep us up at night: feelings that we know only too well, but which have eluded the English lexicon for so long. In 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names, author Mario Giordano catalogues those familiar emotions.

Perfect for cocktail parties, quiet reflection, daily inspiration, or travel entertainment, this delightful compendium is broken up into helpful sections that will fit your every mood, such as 'Afternoon Feelings,' 'Nerd Feelings,' 'Heaven-help-me Feelings,' or the somewhat more nebulous 'Tangerine Feelings.' Or try opening a page at random to help kiss writer's block goodbye. Don't forget to add your own feelings in the back of the book (before they get away!) and share with others.

Each feeling is articulated in a different font, punctuated with images and graphic elements

The feelings range from embarrassing to ethereal.

  • The panic that you might not make it to the bathroom on time.
  • The disappointment that, that smile was meant for someone else.
  • The helplessness in the face of your cat's whims.
  • The joy when the UPS guy rings. (He brings books!)
  • The yearning for the world to stop turning and this perfect summer afternoon to last forever.
  • The relief that it was just a dream.
  • The indignation of finding typos in books and magazines.
  • The wicked glee when know-it-alls screw up.
  • The hope at the sight of teenagers reading.
  • The elation of having this day all to yourself.

A lovely gift for someone who struggles to articulate their feelings or those who are very good at it, as well as fun kind of graduation, house-warming, or birthday gift.

Author Bio:

Mario Giordano is one of Germany's bestselling thriller and screenplay writers. 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names was born out of an intense bout of writer's block. He lives in Cologne, Germany.

Isabel Fargo Cole is a Berlin-based writer and translator. She is the recipient of the 2013 PEN/Heim grant for translation. Cole is also the co-editor of the website no-mans-land.org, an online journal of new German literature in translation.

Ray Fenwick is an artist, illustrator, and author living and working in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. He is the author of the graphic novels Hall of Best Knowledge and Mascots.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

Author: Mario Giordano

$26.99 Add to Cart

Customers who Purchased this item also purchased

  • Life Changing Secrets Never Taught At School

    Life Changing Secrets Never Taught At School

    by Roe Teed

    Our actions today, as parents or carers, impact not only our children’s lives but generations to follow. Life Changing Secrets Never Taught At School is a powerful reminder of the importance of being a parent, rather than a friend, in your children’s lives so that they grow to be happy, secure and confident. Through heart-warming true stories, exercises and practical tips, Roe Teed unravels in this remarkable book information which is beneficial and life-changing for parents and carers alike. By following these fundamental, ‘eye opening’ parenting tools, this book will be your... More info

    $21.75 Add to Cart
  • Being a Brain-Wise Therapist: A Practical Guide to Interpersonal Neurobiology

    Being a Brain-Wise Therapist: A Practical Guide to Interpersonal Neurobiology

    by Bonnie Badenoch

    This book brings interpersonal neurobiology into the counselling room, weaving the concepts of neurobiology into the ever-changing flow of therapy. Neuroscientific discoveries have begun to illuminate the workings of the active brain in intricate detail. In fact, sometimes it seems that in order to be a cutting-edge therapist, not only do you need knowledge of traditional psychotherapeutic models, but a solid understanding of the role the brain plays as well. But theory is never enough. You also need to know how to apply the theories to work with actual clients... More info

    $43.95 Add to Cart
  • The Therapeutic "Aha!" 10 Strategies for getting your clients unstuck

    The Therapeutic "Aha!" 10 Strategies for getting your clients unstuck

    by Courtney Armstrong

    A concise guide to shaking things up in therapy. Courtney Armstrong’s The Therapeutic “Aha!” explores the thrilling and rare moment when a client reaches an elusive realization, allowing them to make meaningful change. In 10 straightforward strategies, this practical book demonstrates how to shake things up in therapy when a client is stuck or stalled to jumpstart progress. Readers will learn how to spark the “emotional brain”—the part of the brain that houses automatic, unconscious patterns—and create new neural pathways that engage and advance the healing process. Divided into three parts—(1) Awakening a... More info

    $40.95 Add to Cart