Practice to make a difference.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

A charming, thought-provoking, hand-lettered book for fans of The Book of Awesome and Wreck This Journal.

They amaze us and hurt us, bring us to tears and make us laugh, delight us and keep us up at night: feelings that we know only too well, but which have eluded the English lexicon for so long. In 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names, author Mario Giordano catalogues those familiar emotions.

Perfect for cocktail parties, quiet reflection, daily inspiration, or travel entertainment, this delightful compendium is broken up into helpful sections that will fit your every mood, such as 'Afternoon Feelings,' 'Nerd Feelings,' 'Heaven-help-me Feelings,' or the somewhat more nebulous 'Tangerine Feelings.' Or try opening a page at random to help kiss writer's block goodbye. Don't forget to add your own feelings in the back of the book (before they get away!) and share with others.

Each feeling is articulated in a different font, punctuated with images and graphic elements

The feelings range from embarrassing to ethereal.

  • The panic that you might not make it to the bathroom on time.
  • The disappointment that, that smile was meant for someone else.
  • The helplessness in the face of your cat's whims.
  • The joy when the UPS guy rings. (He brings books!)
  • The yearning for the world to stop turning and this perfect summer afternoon to last forever.
  • The relief that it was just a dream.
  • The indignation of finding typos in books and magazines.
  • The wicked glee when know-it-alls screw up.
  • The hope at the sight of teenagers reading.
  • The elation of having this day all to yourself.

A lovely gift for someone who struggles to articulate their feelings or those who are very good at it, as well as fun kind of graduation, house-warming, or birthday gift.

Author Bio:

Mario Giordano is one of Germany's bestselling thriller and screenplay writers. 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names was born out of an intense bout of writer's block. He lives in Cologne, Germany.

Isabel Fargo Cole is a Berlin-based writer and translator. She is the recipient of the 2013 PEN/Heim grant for translation. Cole is also the co-editor of the website no-mans-land.org, an online journal of new German literature in translation.

Ray Fenwick is an artist, illustrator, and author living and working in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. He is the author of the graphic novels Hall of Best Knowledge and Mascots.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

Author: Mario Giordano

$26.99 Add to Cart

Customers who Purchased this item also purchased

  • A Guide to Possibility Land: Fifty-One Methods for Doing Brief, Respectful Therapy

    A Guide to Possibility Land: Fifty-One Methods for Doing Brief, Respectful Therapy

    by Bill O'Hanlon & Sandy Beadle

    Tested, practical methods that help people reconnect with their sense of hope and possibility. When was the last time you read a book to improve your professional skills and had fun at the same time? For people interested in the latest developments in brief, solution-oriented therapies, and for any who want to improve their therapeutic skills without unnecessary toil, A Guide to Possibility Land is a terrific introduction to the territory. Possibility therapy, originated by Bill O’Hanlon, is about acknowledging and validating clients’ felt experience and ideas about their lives... More info

    $22.95 Add to Cart
  • Narrative Therapy: An Introduction for Counsellors Second Edition (soft cover)

    Narrative Therapy: An Introduction for Counsellors Second Edition (soft cover)

    by Martin Payne

    Narrative Therapy: An Introduction for Counsellors, Second Edition, offers a clear and concise overview of this way of working without oversimplifying its theoretical underpinnings and practices. Narrative therapy places peoples' accounts of their lives and relationships at the heart of the therapeutic process. Its main premise is that the telling and re-telling of experience by means of guided questioning can facilitate changed, more realistic perspectives, and open up possibilities for the person seeking assistance to position him- or herself more helpfully in relation to the issues brought to therapy. Drawing on... More info

    $73.00 Add to Cart
  • Short Introduction to Helping Children and Young People Who Self-Harm

    Short Introduction to Helping Children and Young People Who Self-Harm

    by Carol Fitzpatrick

    Self-harm and suicidal behaviours are increasingly common in young people, but are often hidden. A Short Introduction to Helping Children and Young People Who Self-Harm aims to show parents, carers and professionals how they can support young people through these difficult times, as well as how to find specialist professional help. The author uses an easy-to-read, jargon free and positive approach to tackle the stigma attached to self-harm and suicidal behaviour. This book combines case studies with professional advice to help the reader take the first steps towards helping the... More info

    $31.50 Add to Cart