Practice to make a difference.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

A charming, thought-provoking, hand-lettered book for fans of The Book of Awesome and Wreck This Journal.

They amaze us and hurt us, bring us to tears and make us laugh, delight us and keep us up at night: feelings that we know only too well, but which have eluded the English lexicon for so long. In 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names, author Mario Giordano catalogues those familiar emotions.

Perfect for cocktail parties, quiet reflection, daily inspiration, or travel entertainment, this delightful compendium is broken up into helpful sections that will fit your every mood, such as 'Afternoon Feelings,' 'Nerd Feelings,' 'Heaven-help-me Feelings,' or the somewhat more nebulous 'Tangerine Feelings.' Or try opening a page at random to help kiss writer's block goodbye. Don't forget to add your own feelings in the back of the book (before they get away!) and share with others.

Each feeling is articulated in a different font, punctuated with images and graphic elements

The feelings range from embarrassing to ethereal.

  • The panic that you might not make it to the bathroom on time.
  • The disappointment that, that smile was meant for someone else.
  • The helplessness in the face of your cat's whims.
  • The joy when the UPS guy rings. (He brings books!)
  • The yearning for the world to stop turning and this perfect summer afternoon to last forever.
  • The relief that it was just a dream.
  • The indignation of finding typos in books and magazines.
  • The wicked glee when know-it-alls screw up.
  • The hope at the sight of teenagers reading.
  • The elation of having this day all to yourself.

A lovely gift for someone who struggles to articulate their feelings or those who are very good at it, as well as fun kind of graduation, house-warming, or birthday gift.

Author Bio:

Mario Giordano is one of Germany's bestselling thriller and screenplay writers. 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names was born out of an intense bout of writer's block. He lives in Cologne, Germany.

Isabel Fargo Cole is a Berlin-based writer and translator. She is the recipient of the 2013 PEN/Heim grant for translation. Cole is also the co-editor of the website no-mans-land.org, an online journal of new German literature in translation.

Ray Fenwick is an artist, illustrator, and author living and working in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. He is the author of the graphic novels Hall of Best Knowledge and Mascots.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

Author: Mario Giordano

$26.99 Add to Cart

Customers who Purchased this item also purchased

  • A Little Book of Friends

    A Little Book of Friends

    by Cate Edwards

    Presenting a collection of amazing little books that are really big on the inside. Featuring an embossed detail on the cover, they are overflowing with deep and meaningful quotations This little book contains a unique collection of carefully chosen quotations designed to offer reflection on friends. *Some Examples are:* True friends stab you in the front. If I had a flower for everytime I thought of you I could walk in my garden forever. Came but for friendship, and took away love. *Other Little Books available:* A Little Book... More info

    $6.95 Add to Cart
  • Teen Suicide Risk: A Practitioner Guide to Screening, Assessment and Management

    Teen Suicide Risk: A Practitioner Guide to Screening, Assessment and Management

    by Cheryl King

    Meeting a vital need, this book helps clinicians rapidly identify risks for suicidal behaviour and manage an at-risk teen's ongoing care. It provides clear guidelines for conducting suicide risk screenings and comprehensive risk assessments and implementing immediate safety-focused interventions, as well as longer-term treatment plans. Designed for day-to-day use in private practice, schools, or other settings, the volume is grounded in a strong evidence base. It features quick-reference clinical pointers, sample dialogues with teens and parents, and reproducible assessment and documentation tools. Purchasers get access to a companion Web page featuring... More info

    $58.99 Add to Cart
  • The Art Therapy Sourcebook

    The Art Therapy Sourcebook

    by Cathy Malchiodi

    Since our ancestors began drawing on cave walls, humans have intuitively known that expressing emotions through art was healthy. Now, 20,000 years later, Cathy Malchiodi brings us a smart overview of the use of art as a therapeutic tool. In this concise and easy-to-read book, Malchiodi treats the reader to fascinating case studies and valuable pointers in helping us to open up and explore our nature creatively. This book is ideally suited for people beginning to explore art Power and makes a major contribution to art therapy going mainstream.... More info

    $35.95 Add to Cart