Practice to make a difference.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

A charming, thought-provoking, hand-lettered book for fans of The Book of Awesome and Wreck This Journal.

They amaze us and hurt us, bring us to tears and make us laugh, delight us and keep us up at night: feelings that we know only too well, but which have eluded the English lexicon for so long. In 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names, author Mario Giordano catalogues those familiar emotions.

Perfect for cocktail parties, quiet reflection, daily inspiration, or travel entertainment, this delightful compendium is broken up into helpful sections that will fit your every mood, such as 'Afternoon Feelings,' 'Nerd Feelings,' 'Heaven-help-me Feelings,' or the somewhat more nebulous 'Tangerine Feelings.' Or try opening a page at random to help kiss writer's block goodbye. Don't forget to add your own feelings in the back of the book (before they get away!) and share with others.

Each feeling is articulated in a different font, punctuated with images and graphic elements

The feelings range from embarrassing to ethereal.

  • The panic that you might not make it to the bathroom on time.
  • The disappointment that, that smile was meant for someone else.
  • The helplessness in the face of your cat's whims.
  • The joy when the UPS guy rings. (He brings books!)
  • The yearning for the world to stop turning and this perfect summer afternoon to last forever.
  • The relief that it was just a dream.
  • The indignation of finding typos in books and magazines.
  • The wicked glee when know-it-alls screw up.
  • The hope at the sight of teenagers reading.
  • The elation of having this day all to yourself.

A lovely gift for someone who struggles to articulate their feelings or those who are very good at it, as well as fun kind of graduation, house-warming, or birthday gift.

Author Bio:

Mario Giordano is one of Germany's bestselling thriller and screenplay writers. 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names was born out of an intense bout of writer's block. He lives in Cologne, Germany.

Isabel Fargo Cole is a Berlin-based writer and translator. She is the recipient of the 2013 PEN/Heim grant for translation. Cole is also the co-editor of the website no-mans-land.org, an online journal of new German literature in translation.

Ray Fenwick is an artist, illustrator, and author living and working in Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada. He is the author of the graphic novels Hall of Best Knowledge and Mascots.

1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

Author: Mario Giordano

$26.99 Add to Cart

Customers who Purchased this item also purchased

  • How to Get Kids Offline, Outdoors, and Connecting with Nature: 200+ Creative activities to encourage self-esteem, mindfulness, and wellbeing

    How to Get Kids Offline, Outdoors, and Connecting with Nature: 200+ Creative activities to encourage self-esteem, mindfulness, and wellbeing

    by Bonnie Thomas

    Full of ideas, activities and exercises, this book provides imaginative ways to inspire young people to put down the computer games, disconnect from social media, and spend more time away from a screen. In an increasingly electronic world, creating enthusiasm for the great outdoors can seem an impossible task. Yet, the benefits of nature are endless, and they extend further than just improving physical health; being in natural surroundings is also an effective way to boost imagination, creativity and overall wellbeing. In whatever capacity you work or care for... More info

    $38.95 Add to Cart
  • Shared Parenting: Raising Your Children Cooperatively After Separation

    Shared Parenting: Raising Your Children Cooperatively After Separation

    by Jill Burrett & Michael Green

    Research shows that children in separated families do best when both parents are actively involved in their lives. The aim of shared parenting is to have children in post-separation families spend substantially equal time with both parents. Shared parenting is widely regarded as the best parenting arrangement because it focuses on the benefits the child can gain through having such time. However, in many family situations, the implementation of this may seem daunting: equal time with both parents might be an unrealistic ideal, and communication between ex-partners may be difficult.... More info

    $28.50 Add to Cart
  • Neurobiology Essentials for Clinicians: What Every Therepist Needs to Know

    Neurobiology Essentials for Clinicians: What Every Therepist Needs to Know

    by Arlene Montgomery

    This book presents an overview of the latest theories of affect regulation and focuses on how these theories work in clinical settings and how therapists can be taught to implement them. The notion of teaching and learning will be extended by the theories themselves—the author presents methods of education that enact the theories being taught. The book is divided into eight chapters, each one highlighting a particular structure or related structures of the brain. Suggestions for learning how to clinically apply the neurobiological/neuroanatomical information are offered. What is so unique... More info

    $43.95 Add to Cart