Practice to make a difference.

Bookshop

 Can’t find what you are looking for? If you have a specific title in mind, but don’t see it on our site, we may be able to obtain it for you. Email your request

  • The Bear Cards

    The Bear Cards

    by John Veeken

    The Bear Cards ® are a beautiful, high quality set of feeling cards featuring 48 bear characters showing a wide range of emotions. The magic of these cards is the way that they engage people, especially children and help them to recognise, identify and talk about feelings. The bear characters are cute, furry and free of gender, age or ethnicity. The Bear Cards ® can be used in many different contexts: how they are put to work will be influenced by what you with to achieve. They can be...

  • (WTF?) What's the Feeling?

    (WTF?) What's the Feeling?

    by John Veeken

    There is nothing more important in life than our emotions. Every decision we ever make is based on how we feel or wish to feel. However, talking about our emotions is not always easy… especially for men. (WTF?) What’s the Feeling? Cards has 52 carefully selected feelings presented as a deck of regular playing cards featuring a pack of moody mutts, plus four jokers. They can be used to think about or discuss feelings or simply to play any card game. An enclosed information sheet will help to get...

  • 100 + Questions Kids Have About Bullying

    100 + Questions Kids Have About Bullying

    by Interrelate

    Bullying is when somebody upsets and hurts someone else. The hurt can be to their body and/or their feelings. In this book, the team from Interrelate answers 100+ Questions Kids Have collected from our school programs. 100+ Questions Kids Have About Bullying offers practical strategies and sound advice based around real world examples of bullying. Whether you are interested in cyber-bullying or more traditional forms of bullying, this book answers all your questions in an accessible, easy to understand way. *Other titles in the series:* 100 + Questions Kids Have...

  • 100 + Questions Kids have about Having a Baby

    100 + Questions Kids have about Having a Baby

    by Interrelate

    Families come in all different shapes and sizes. Most babies are born into a family, some children join a family when parents form a new family, a step or blended family. Sometimes children are adopted or fostered into a family while some children spend time living with other adults who care for them. In this book, the team from Interrelate answers 100+ Questions Kids Have collected from our school programs. “The value of this book is that it answers real questions by children in words and phrases that are...

  • 100 + Questions Kids Have about Puberty

    100 + Questions Kids Have about Puberty

    by Interrelate

    Puberty is the time in our lives when we begin to change from being a child to becoming an adult. In this book, the team from Interrelate answers 100+ Questions Kids Have collected from our school programs. Being a teenager is tough but not as tough as parenting one. This book is a great resource for parents and teenagers, it provides an opening for conversation between parents and children and it provides a resource for each gender to know about the changes in the other *Other titles in the...

  • 100 Learning Games for Special Needs with Music, Movement, Sounds and...Silence

    100 Learning Games for Special Needs with Music, Movement, Sounds and...Silence

    by Johanne Hanko

    Games and activities are a great way for children with special needs to learn important skills. This book provides inspiration and guidance for special education teachers, teaching assistants, parents and carers on how to use lively and engaging play ideas to foster learning and development. Targeting key skills including listening, self-awareness, movement, creative thinking and relaxation, each game has been developed with the capabilities of children with special needs in mind. The appropriate age group is clearly identified, and possible variations for different abilities are provided. All of the instructions...

  • 1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

    1000 Feelings for Which There are No Names

    by Mario Giordano

    A charming, thought-provoking, hand-lettered book for fans of The Book of Awesome and Wreck This Journal. They amaze us and hurt us, bring us to tears and make us laugh, delight us and keep us up at night: feelings that we know only too well, but which have eluded the English lexicon for so long. In 1,000 Feelings for Which There Are No Names, author Mario Giordano catalogues those familiar emotions. Perfect for cocktail parties, quiet reflection, daily inspiration, or travel entertainment, this delightful compendium is broken up into helpful...

  • 1001 Solution-Focused Questions

    1001 Solution-Focused Questions

    by Fredrike Bannink

    An invaluable resource for conducting successful solution-focused therapy. Drawing on nearly 30 years of clinical practice, Bannink compiles solution-focused questions and protocols that are formulated to elicit the client's expertise on the issue(s) that brought him or her to therapy. Categorized for general use and for use with specific types of clients-such as children, couples, and families, and those who have suffered trauma or who might benefit from medication-the questions demonstrate how the precise use of language is an important tool in solution-focused interviewing. Exercises and homework suggestions invite self-reflection and experimentation...

  • 1001 Tips for the Parents of Autistic Boys: Everything You Need to Know About Diagnosis, Doctors, Schools, Taxes, Vacations, Babysitters, Treatments, Food, and More

    1001 Tips for the Parents of Autistic Boys: Everything You Need to Know About Diagnosis, Doctors, Schools, Taxes, Vacations, Babysitters, Treatments, Food, and More

    by Ken Siri

    Current research shows that as many as one in seventy boys in the United States now has an autism spectrum disorder. Parents of boys with autism face unique challenges, often becoming full-time researchers looking for the latest information to better help their children. After countless hours of study, Ken Siri presents the essential guide to parenting a boy with autism. Compiling what he has learned from experts, other parents, and his experiences with his own son, he offers guidance such as: #56: What's the big IDEA" It's important to...

  • 101 Creative Strategies for Helping Children with High Stress

    101 Creative Strategies for Helping Children with High Stress

    by Youthlight

    Highly stressed children eventually experience increased school failure behaviour difficulties social/emotional problems and/or health difficulties. This book provides a collection of strategies (including reproducible student worksheets) specifically designed for you to use to help highly stressed children to: Learn about what are normal anxious feelings Explore how to cope with the stressors that lead to these feelings Identify and express specific current and past fears Learn and practice appropriate coping skills An At-A-Glance Chart is included to help you quickly locate suggested strategies according to the type of activity...

  • 101 Creative Strategies for Reaching Unmotivated Student Learners

    101 Creative Strategies for Reaching Unmotivated Student Learners

    by Youthlight

    A practical and innovative resource designed to assist teachers, counsellors, parents and other professionals who strive to assist unmotivated learners. The research cited supports an extensive array of techniques activities strategies and materials that are designed to make a positive difference for unmotivated learners. The 101 strategies are described in detail often with accompanying materials and handouts and are organized around five themes: *Self-Esteem* *Organization* *Motivation* *Listening Skills* *Parent Strategies* *Discipline* (Paperback) *Author:* Susan Smith-Rex & James Rex View Sample Pages

  • 101 Games and Activities for Children with Autism, Asperger’s, and Sensory Processing Disorders

    101 Games and Activities for Children with Autism, Asperger’s, and Sensory Processing Disorders

    by Tara Delaney

    Learning through play, one of the best ways for children with autism, Asperger s, and sensory processing disorders to learn is through play. Children improve their motor skills, language skills, and social skills by moving their bodies and interacting with their environment. Yet the biggest challenges parents, teachers, and loved ones face with children on the autism spectrum or with sensory processing disorders is how to successfully engage them in play. Pediatric occupational therapist Tara Delaney provides the answer. In 101 Games and Activities for Children with Autism, Asperger s,...

Page 1 of 167 |